Does Michigan have the purple paint law?

What states have a purple paint law? That’s all fine and dandy if it were a law here in Michigan WHICH IT IS NOT. It’s common knowledge and if you’re out and see it, you should go the opposite direction. But it’s not a law here.

What is the purple paint law in Michigan?


Senate Bill 106 would allow property owners to mark their property with lines of purple paint instead of having to use “no trespassing” signs. “There are convincing reasons to allow property owners to protect their property by marking it with paint,” said VanderWall, R-Ludington.

Does Michigan have the purple paint no trespassing law?

To establish that a property owner can “post” his property to indicate that trespassing is prohibited by placing purple paint marks on trees or posts not more than 100 feet apart and readily visible to a person approaching the property.

Do you have to post no trespassing signs in Michigan?

Under Mich. Comp. Laws § 750.552, a person may not “Enter the lands or premises of another without lawful authority after having been forbidden to do so by the owner or occupant or the agent of the owner or occupant.” At any point of entry upon the property, there must be not less than one sign.

What does a purple fence mean?

To save money and to make money, that’s why. Purple paint on boundary line trees or fence posts means NO TRESPASSING, just as a green light means go and a red light means stop.

Can you retrieve a deer on someone else’s property in Michigan?

Private trespassing

You must receive the landowner’s permission before tracking an animal that you wounded if it runs or flies onto their property. But a person without a firearm may walk or run onto a person’s property only for retrieving their hunting dog unless the property owner previously objected.

Can you trespass on public property?

People in a park will often protest (if asked to leave) that it is public land. This does not mean that they have a right to be on it at all times – they do not. If the place closes at a certain time and someone is present after that time, they can then be considered to be trespassing.

Is there a purple fence law in Michigan?

What does it mean if you see purple paint on a fence or trees? It’s based on a law called “The Purple Paint Law” and in essence it does indeed translate to Stay Away, Keep Out, Keep Off, No Trespassing.

What is the penalty for trespassing in MI?

MCL 750.552(2).

A person who commits criminal trespassing is guilty of a misdemeanor conviction punishable by a fine up to $250.00 or up to 30 days in the county jail, or both.

Is trespassing a felony in MI?

Trespassing is illegal in Michigan and is both a criminal and civil offense. A person arrested for entering a property without the permission of the owner can face misdemeanor or felony charges depending on the circumstances, including injury, damage to property, and the value of the property.

Can you sue someone for trespassing?

Suing for trespass can be a complex legal procedure, as trespass may be a civil offence – or a criminal offence if criminal damage is caused to the property or land. The law defines trespass as “any unjustifiable intrusion by a person upon the land in possession of another”.

Can you shoot a wounded deer after dark in Michigan?

By law you did the correct thing. You can not hunt deer at night with an artificial light. Even though you were tracking a wounded deer.

How far away from a house can you hunt in Michigan?

450 feet

No person may hunt with a firearm within 450 feet of an occupied building, dwelling, house, residence or cabin, or any barn or other building used in connection with a farm operation, without obtaining the written permission of the owner, renter or occupant of the property. The safety zone applies to hunting only.

Can you hunt on your own land without a license in Michigan?

DO I NEED A HUNTING LICENSE TO HUNT WITHIN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN? Yes. A Hunting License is different from a Hunter Education Certificate and is required for any person, of any age who hunts within the state. This includes both residents and non-residents.

What can you do to someone trespassing?

If they are trespassing on your property you have the right to ask them to leave. However, do not take the law into your own hands by intervening, such as making physical threats or attempting to confiscate items. You may make the situation worse and even risk committing an offence yourself.

What defines trespassing?

Trespass is entering – or putting property on – land that belongs to someone else, without their permission.

What does no trespassing mean?

Trespassing is entering someone’s private property without permission or lawful excuse.

What is disorderly conduct in Michigan?

(1) A person is a disorderly person if the person is any of the following: (a) A person of sufficient ability who refuses or neglects to support his or her family. (b) A common prostitute. (c) A window peeper.

What is disturbing the peace in Michigan?

§ 134.02 DISTURBING THE PEACE GENERALLY. Any person who shall make or assist in making any noise, disturbance or improper diversion, or any rout or riot, or ring or sound any gong, by which the peace and good order of the neighborhood are disturbed, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. § 134.03 DISORDERLY HOUSE.

Is loitering illegal in Michigan?

Loitering is a potential crime in Michigan that is defined as waiting or standing idly around and having no apparent purpose. In Michigan, if you happen to be loitering around in the wrong place, you could be charged with disorderly conduct.